Nominees announced for 2015 SSE Airtricity/Soccer Writers' Association of Ireland Awards

The nominees for the 2015 SSE Airtricity/Soccer Writers' Association of Ireland flagship awards have been announced today, Tuesday 15 December.

The Personality of the Year and Goalkeeper of the Year awards will be presented at the SSE Airtricity/SWAI Annual Banquet in Dublin's Conrad Hotel on Friday 8 January 2016.

In the Personality of the Year shortlist, the six nominees are split evenly between three managers and three players, who all enjoyed memorable seasons in the SSE Airtricity League Premier and First Divisions.

Double-winning boss Stephen Kenny is nominated for his work with Dundalk in leading the club to an SSE Airtricity League and Irish Daily Mail FAI Cup double and will be looking to win the award for the second year in a row. Cork City manager John Caulfield and Wexford Youths boss Shane Keegan are also in the running for the award.

The three players recognised for their achievements this year are Brandon Miele of Shamrock Rovers and Dundalk’s Richie Towell and Daryl Horgan.

For the Goalkeeper of the Year, last year's winner Mark McNulty is again nominated after a fine season with Cork City, while Dundalk’s Gary Rogers and Drogheda United’s Michael Schlingermann are also in with a shout.

Caulfield is in the running for the Personality award after overseeing his side to an FAI Cup final and second spot in the league. Shane Keegan’s Wexford Youths enjoyed a fantastic season and he gets the nod for winning the First Division and, with that, promotion to the Premier.

Dundalk pair Horgan and Towell had a season to remember. Towell – who has since secured a move to Championship side Brighton – netted an incredible 29 goals from midfield, including the extra-time winner in the FAI Cup final.

Horgan, who will be staying with Dundalk next season after signing a new contract, had a number of impressive performances and was one of the driving forces behind the Lilywhites completing the double.

Hoops star Miele, meanwhile, was a shining light for Pat Fenlon’s men during his first season in Tallaght, netting 11 goals.

In the goalkeeping department, Rogers boasted the best defensive record with Dundalk, while McNulty kept 17 clean sheets, the most of any keeper in the league. Schlingermann, who has since joined Sligo Rovers, is also in the mix after impressing with the Drogs.

SWAI Personality of the Year nominees: Stephen Kenny (Dundalk), Richie Towell (Dundalk), Daryl Horgan (Dundalk), Shane Keegan (Wexford Youths), John Caulfield (Cork City) and Brandon Miele (Shamrock Rovers).

SWAI Goalkeeper of the Year nominees: Gary Rogers (Dundalk), Mark McNulty (Cork City), Michael Schlingermann (Drogheda United).